Thomas Ruff

Ohne Titel, 2009

The German artist Thomas Ruff is one of the best-known and most influential artists of conceptual photography. Ruff helped his subject photography have a equal place next to painting.
Born in 1958, Thomas Ruff who was taught by Bernd and Hilla Becher newly defined photography: His work shows expressionless faces in “Portraits 1983-1987”, seemingly alien buildings in “w.h.s.10 (from l.m.v.d.r)” (2004) and pornographic scenes, for example “Nude (motif 0041)” (2001). These examples are only a fraction of Thomas Ruff's wide range of pictures. His photographs seem lifeless, anonymous and entirely distant from the subjects they depict, they do not allow to be clearly interpreted. Thomas Ruff objects to the myth that photography is a direct depiction of reality, he leads the observer away from overly shallow viewing.
At the same time, Thomas Ruff chooses tools beyond the conventional. Thomas Ruff is among the first to use analogue and digital cameras as well as computers and collected newspaper articles. Yet precision, high quality and aloof beauty make his work captivating.
Thomas Ruff - Exhibitions
The German artist's work has been exhibited in the Tate Modern, the MOMA San Fransisco, the Metropolitan Museum New York and the Haus der Kunst in Munich. Some of Thomas Ruff's art pieces can be found in the public collection of the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago, the Centre Pompidou, the Kunsthalle Hamburg and the private collections of Paul Maens and the Cal Cego Collecion in Barcelona.

You can buy works by Thomas Ruff in our shop.

Thomas Ruff
TITLE:
Ohne Titel, 2009
YEAR:
2009
FORMAT:
approx. 76 x 56 cm (convert to inch)
MEDIUM:
print – Print
EDITION:
100 (What is this?)
 
PRICE:
approx. € 1.504,20excl. tax
 

€ 1.790,00* inc. tax

CONTACT US ADD TO BASKET

* due shipping costs are not included in the above price, if you don't use your own shipping , we are happy to quote and organize it for you.

Delivery time: up to 14 days.

Thomas Ruff

Ohne Titel, 2009

Der deutsche Künstler Thomas Ruff gilt als einer der bekanntesten und einflussreichsten Vertreter der konzeptionellen Fotografie. Seinem Medium hat Thomas Ruff unlängst einen ebenbürtigen Platz neben der Malerei eingeräumt. Der 1958 geborene Schüler von Bernd und Hilla Becher definierte die Fotografie völlig neu:
Ausdruckslose Gesichter in „Portraits 1983-1987“, fremdartig wirkende Gebäude „w.h.s.10 (from l.m.v.d.r.)” (2004), und pornografische Szenen wie „Nude (motif 0041)” (2001) stellen nur einen Teil seines breitgefächerten Bildrepertoires dar. Seine Fotografien wirken leblos, anonym und vollkommen distanziert von ihren eigenen Subjekten und lassen keine eindeutige Interpretation zu. Thomas Ruff widerspricht dem Mythos, Fotografie sei ein direktes Abbild der Realität und führt den Betrachter dadurch weg von einer zu oberflächlichen Betrachtung.
Gleichermaßen sprengt Thomas Ruff bei der Wahl seines Werkzeugs die Grenzen der Konventionen. Dabei gilt Ruff als einer der Ersten, der sich sowohl an analogen und digitalen Kameras, als auch an Computern und gesammelten Zeitungsartikeln bediente. Trotzdem bestechen seine Arbeiten durch Präzision, hochwertige Qualität und unnahbarer Schönheit.
Thomas Ruff - Kunstausstellungen
Die Arbeiten von Thomas Ruff wurden bisher in der Tate Modern, der MOMA San Francisco, dem Metropolitan Museum in New York und im Haus der Kunst in München ausgestellt. Einige seiner Werke befinden sich in den öffentlichen Sammlungen der Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago, dem Centre Pompidou, der Kunsthalle Hamburg, sowie in den privaten Sammlungen von Paul Maenz und der Cal Cego Collecion in Barcelona.

Arbeiten von Thomas Ruff können Sie im Shop kaufen.

Thomas Ruff
TITLE:
Ohne Titel, 2009
YEAR:
2009
FORMAT:
ca. 76 x 56 cm (convert to inch)
MEDIUM:
print – Print
EDITION:
100 (What is this?)
 
PRICE:
ungefähr € 1.504,20exkl. MwSt
 

€ 1.790,00* inkl. MwSt

ANFRAGE IN DEN WARENKORB

*zzgl. Versandkosten (NON-EU & US)
Lieferzeit: bis zu 14 Tagen.