Candida Höfer

Spiegelkantine III

Candida Höfer prefers symmetry, auniform sharpness of depth in which every detail appears clearly, anddramatic lighting which first feels unnatural because its sourceremains a mystery. Candida Höfer often works with natural and artificial light sourcessimultaneously. The technical characteristics of her work cause theactual function of the room to remain of secondary interest, whichallows the representative atmospheres of the rooms to figure all themore prominently.

Since the 80s, Candida Höfer has been interested in interiors, mostlythose with a past. Her portrayals of libraries, concert halls,archives, and museums are famous. They are all venues of Westerncultural understanding. Although the photographer has no particulardocumentary interest, the architecture, conception, and organizationof a library speak volumes about the interests and the cultural,educational, and scientific paradigms of Western societies. These arespaces in which the identity of a cultural milieu becomes evident. Candida Höfer is interested in the structure, layout, organization,and especially the decor of these rooms. The very similar lighting ofcertain types of buildings in a thematic series invites the viewer tocompare one image to another.

Höfer, born in 1944 in Eberswalde, enrolled in the photography classof Bernd and Hilla Becher at the Art Academy in Düsseldorf in 1976.Along with Andreas Gursky, Axel Hütte, Thomas Ruff, and Thomas Struth, Candida Höfer is one of the most important representatives of the Becher school. In 2002 she took part in the Documenta 11 in Kassel, and in 2003 she and Martin Kippenberger represented Germany at the 50th Biennale di Venezia.

Candida Höfer - collections

Candida Höfer's work is included in numerous publiccollections, including the Bavarian Painting Collections in Munich andthe Tate Collection in London. Private collections like the Esslcollection, the Schaufler collection, and the Lothar Schirmercollection have already purchased works by the artist.

You can buy works by Candida Höfer in our shop.

Candida Höfer
TITLE:
Spiegelkantine III
YEAR:
2000
FORMAT:
approx. 75 x 75 cm (convert to inch)
MEDIUM:
photography – c-print
EDITION:
100 (What is this?)
 
signed and numbered,
unframed, in perfect condition
PRICE:
approx. € 6.218,49excl. tax
 

€ 7.400,00* inc. tax

CONTACT US SOLD

* due shipping costs are not included in the above price, if you don't use your own shipping , we are happy to quote and organize it for you.

Delivery time: up to 14 days.

Candida Höfer

Spiegelkantine III

Candida Höfers hat eine Vorliebe für Symmetrie, eine gleichmäßige Tiefenschärfe, die jedes Detail klar modelliert und eine Lichtdramaturgie, die aufs erste unnatürlich wirkt, weil man meist rätselt, woher eigentlich das Licht kommt. Höfer arbeitet oft mit natürlichen und künstlichen Lichtquellen gleichzeitig. Die technischen Besonderheiten bewirken, dass die eigentliche Funktion der Räume in den Hintergrund tritt und umso mehr ihre repräsentative Atmosphäre betont wird.

Seit den 80er Jahren interessiert sich Candida Höfer für Innenräume, meist solche mit Vergangenheit. Bekannt sind ihre Aufnahmen von Bibliotheken, Konzertsälen, Archiven und Museen. Allesamt Austragungsorte westlichen Kulturverständnisses. Auch wenn die Fotografin kein streng dokumentarisches Interesse verfolgt, erzählen etwa Architektur, Konzept und Sortierung einer Bibliothek viel von den Interessen, dem Kultur- Bildungs- und Forschungsverständnis westlicher Gesellschaften. Es sind Räume, in denen die Identität eines kulturellen Milieus anschaulich wird. Candida Höfer interessiert an diesen Räumen die Struktur, Aufteilung, Ordnungsprinzipien und vor allem auch das Dekor. Die jeweils sehr ähnliche Ablichtung bestimmter Gebäudetypen in einer thematischen Serie animieren zum Vergleich der Bilder.

Candida Höfer, geboren 1944 in Eberswalde, trat 1976 in die Fotoklasse von Bernd und Hilla Becher an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorfer ein. Neben Andreas Gursky, Axel Hütte, Thomas Ruff und Thomas Struth gilt sie als eine der wichtigsten Vertreterinnen der Becher- Schule. 2002 nahm sie an der Documenta 11 in Kassel teil und 2003 vertrat sie zusammen mit Martin Kippenberger Deutschland auf der 50. Biennale di Venezia.

Candida Höfer - Sammlungen

Candida Höfers Arbeiten sind in zahlreichen öffentlichen Sammlungen vertreten darunter in der Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen, München sowie der Tate Collection, London. Private Sammlungen wie die Sammlung Essl, die Sammlung Schaufler sowie die Sammlung Lothar Schirmer haben bereits Werke vder Künsterin gekauft.

Arbeiten von Candida Höfer können Sie im Shop kaufen.

Candida Höfer
TITLE:
Spiegelkantine III
YEAR:
2000
FORMAT:
ca. 75 x 75 cm (convert to inch)
MEDIUM:
photography – C-Print
EDITION:
100 (What is this?)
 
signiert und nummeriert,
ungerahmt, im 1A Zustand
PRICE:
ungefähr € 5.294,12exkl. MwSt
 

€ 6.300,00* inkl. MwSt

ANFRAGE IN DEN WARENKORB

*zzgl. Versandkosten (NON-EU & US)
Lieferzeit: bis zu 14 Tagen.