ARTWORKS FOR SALE

William Anastasi - Biography

"The love of repetition is in fact the only happy one." As a guiding principle this 1843 stated quote of the Danish philosopher Soren Kierkegaard runs through the work of William Anastasi, who was born in 1933 in Philadelphia. "In the repetition things slow up," said William Anastasi. "They get better, more beautiful, with the prospect of what is coming."

 

It is an art of possibilities, which the in New York living American and co-founder of conceptual art Anastasi promotes since the beginning of the 60s in his paintings, photographs, sculptures, drawings and watercolors. His work is sometimes melancholy, mellow, but yet on closer inspection it outshines all his idealism.

 

There hangs a meter-long shiny tape of a videotape chaotic down on two nails from the wall. It is arranged like a large painting. "Beethoven's Fifth Symphony" is the title of his sculpture in 1964. William Anastasi manages to be the music there. Audible. He is a seeker after visual forms of philosophy. He has been an example for a whole generation of Western artists. Among contemporaries such as Richard Serra, Eva Hesse or Sol Lewitt, he was regarded as "artists artist" - a witty inspiration that manifests itself conspicuous in the work of his colleagues.

"I like the idea of painting phenomenological."

William Anastasi wants to create his art without letting guided himself by his ego. The art should create itself - that is his goal. "I like the idea of the phenomenological painting," he says. For his work "Blind" (1966) he painted his naked body in the colors of the walls, ceiling and floor. In his famous minimalist "Blind Drawings" shows this immediacy of this approach too. Anastasis close friend, 1992 died composer John Cage, gave him a lasting inspiration for these paintings.

 

Repetition is a reminder into the forward direction, it says in Kierkegaard. From this perspective, Anastasi creates the future. And urges his viewers to always rise to new challenges.

 

William Anastasi - Exhibitions

Works by William Anastasi are among others in New York museums like The Museum of Modern Art, The Guggenheim Museum, The Whitney Museum, Metropolitan Museum, The Brooklyn Museum and The Jewish Museum also the Philadelphia Museum of Art, The Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, National Gallery of Art, Washigton DC, the Art Institute of Chicago, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, the National Gallery of Art in Denmark and the Kunstmuseum Düsseldorf.


You can buy works by William Anastasi in our shop.

ARTWORKS FOR SALE

"Untitled", 1966
Sammlung William Anastasi

William Anastasi - Kunstwerk

William Anastasi

William Anastasi

ARTWORKS FOR SALE

William Anastasi - Biographie

„Die Liebe der Wiederholung ist in Wahrheit die einzig glückliche.“ Wie ein Leitsatz zieht sich das Zitat des dänischen Philosophen Sören Kierkegard von 1843 durch das Werk des 1933 in Philadelphia geborenen William Anastasi. „In der Wiederholung verlangsamen sich die Dinge“, sagt William Anastasi. „Sie werden besser, schöner, in der Voraussicht, was kommt.“

 

Es ist eine Kunst der Möglichkeiten, die der in New York lebende Amerikaner und Mitbegründer der konzeptuellen Kunst Anastasi seit Anfang der 60er Jahre in seinen Gemälden, Fotografien, Skulpturen, Zeichnungen und Aquarellen propagiert. Seine Arbeiten sind manchmal melancholisch, abgeklärt und trotzdem überstrahlt bei näherer Betrachtung sein Idealismus alles.

 

Da hängt ein meterlanges glänzendes Band eines Videotapes chaotisch an zwei Nägeln von der Wand herunter. Es ist arrangiert wie ein großformatiges Gemälde. „Beethoven`s Fifth Symphony“ lautet der Titel seiner Skulptur von 1964. Anastasi gelingt es, die Musik anwesend zu machen. Hörbar. Er ist ein Suchender nach visuellen Formen der Philosophie. Einer ganzen Generation westlicher Künstler hat er als Vorbild gedient. Unter Zeitgenossen wie Richard Serra, Eva Hesse oder Sol Lewitt galt er als "artists artist" – eine geistreiche Inspirationsquelle, die sich im Werk seiner Kollegen unübersehbar manifestiert.

„Ich mag die Idee des phänomenologischen Malens“

William Anastasi will seine Kunst erschaffen, ohne sich dabei von seinem Ego leiten zu lassen. Die Kunst soll sich selbst erschaffen, das ist sein Ziel. „Ich mag die Idee des phänomenologischen Malens“, sagt er. Für die Arbeit „Blind“ (1966) bemalte er seinen nackten Körper in den Farben der Wände, der Decke und des Bodens. Auch in seinen bekannten minimalistischen „Blind-Drawings“ zeigt sich dieser Ansatz der Unmittelbarkeit. Anastasis enger Freund der 1992 verstorbene Komponist John Cage hat ihn für diese Gemälde nachhaltig inspiriert.

 

Wiederholung sei eine Erinnerung in Richtung nach vorn, heißt es bei Kierkegard. So gesehen, erschafft William Anastasi die Zukunft. Und fordert damit seine Betrachter immer wieder neu heraus.

 

William Anastasi - Kunstausstellungen

Arbeiten von William Anastasi befinden sich unter anderem in New Yorker Museen wie The Modern Art Museum, The Guggenheim Museum, The Whitney Museum, The Metropolitan Museum, The Brooklyn Museum und The Jewish Museum sowie im Philadelphia Museum of Art, The Walker Art Centre in Minneapolis, der National Gallery of Art in Washigton D.C., dem Art Institut of Chicago, dem Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles, der Staatsgalerie für Kunst in Dänemark und dem Kunstmuseum Düsseldorf.


Arbeiten von William Anastasi können Sie im Shop kaufen.

ARTWORKS FOR SALE

"Untitled", 1966
Sammlung William Anastasi

William Anastasi - Kunstwerk

William Anastasi

William Anastasi